Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tips to avoid scam jobs?

jwathas
Johanna W Member Since: Sep 24, 2016
1 of 21

Hi everyone,

I am new to Upwork, having just joined about a week ago.  I'm getting really frustrated and about ready to throw in the towel altogether.  I have submitted proposals for many projects over the past week and the ONLY ones who have responded to me have turned out to be total scams, wanting me to contact them outside of Upwork, such as on Skype, Google Hangouts, or email, or even wanting me to send them money in order to work for them.  I even had one yesterday tell me that they would send me a check to purchase equipment (even though it was all equipment that I already own).  They were all clearly scams.  Does anyone have any tips on avoiding these going forward?  Are there any red flags I should look for when browsing the job postings?  Again, I am brand new to this, so any advice would be greatly appreciated!  I'm just really getting tired of wasting my time (and connects) on these losers.

Thanks in advance!

pandoraharper
Community Guru
Pandora H Member Since: May 11, 2010
2 of 21

Yes, there are lots of red flags associated with these kinds of jobs. And what do you know, there are a couple of super excellent thread about this very thing.

Read this first:

Tips to Avoid Questionable Jobs

A discussion thread (it's large but quite valuable)

Job Warning Signs

Welcome to Upwork Smiley Happy

csjarmitage
Community Guru
Christy A Member Since: Dec 30, 2015
3 of 21

First suggestion?  Take data entry out of your skills list.  I honestly believe scammers search that term.

Second (and this is ancillary to your original question), I'd add strong portfolio items since you are positioning yourself as a writer/editor.  It probably wouldn't be a bad idea to clean up your introductory sentence, as well.