🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Total bid amount doesn't match total for indi...
Page options
nolan_bulger
Community Member

Total bid amount doesn't match total for individual milestones

I'm getting ready to accept a new offer but I'm confused about the way the numbers are presented.

The total bid for the project is $3,000 and there are six milestones. However, each individual milestone is set to $250, which only adds up to $1,500 - half the amount of the total bid.

Why the discrepancy?

upwork milestones.PNG

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Nolan. I'm not an expert, so take this with a pinch of salt.

As I understand it, the only thing a client is committed to are funded milestones, which means the first milestone in this case. The client is free to pull the plug after that, or change the details of subsequent milestones. Similarly, you are free to walk away after the first milestone (though that might get you a bad review), so you are not forced to accept any changes the client makes.

In other words, unfunded milestones and the total bid are just non-binding intentions as far as Upwork's mechanisms are concerned. (I won't comment on their legal status.)

Since more milestones can be added later, the total amount for the declared milestones needn't be the total for the job. it's possible that the client intends the first 6 milestones to be only half the job. More likely they've just made a mistake. In any case, you should definitely clarify the client's and your own intentions and expectations before accepting the job offer. Make sure you're both on the same page.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
AveryO
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Nolan,