cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Tracking documentation reading/studying hours.

Highlighted
Cristian Z Member Since: Nov 25, 2015
1 of 8

Hi there!

I was searching the forum for a while and I couldn't find any post about this topic. I'm new to Upwork and I'm having my first job right now.

I wonder if I should track the hours I spend reading the docs that the client send to me and the specific API docs for this job. I guess this is an obvious YES answer but I am concerned about how the client might react about it. Is this widely accepted???

Thanks in advance.

Highlighted
Community Guru
John B Member Since: Feb 20, 2009
2 of 8

With any new job there is a learning curve.

How the client might react depends on the job description and what you told him about your experience with the specific API.

Maybe you should discuss with your client how much time you can spend before you are productive using the API etc.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
3 of 8

Since it sounds like a custom API, I'd probably charge him no more than an hour. It's necessary for something like this, so it's not like he hired you to understand a Google API and you need to read the documentation before you start.

Highlighted
Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
4 of 8

Cristian,

You did the right thing by asking about this in the forum. Like John B, I recommend that you ask the client first before you record the time spent studying the docs. If the project is on a tight deadline and the client doesn't respond right away, I would manually keep track of the time you spend reading and then if the client approves it later, ask the client to allow you to add the time manually.

Scott B Member Since: Nov 20, 2015
BEST ANSWER
5 of 8