🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Tried out something new, got average feedback...
Page options
85b93312
Community Member

Tried out something new, got average feedback, what now?

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to Upwork and as part of my journey, I took up an assignment for something I had never done before. Turns out I love writing content, but I am not really good at it! Great learning, but this has impacted my JSS, and I am wondering how to recover from this setback. Since I have only a little feedback, it has a significant impact and is making it much harder to get new opportunities. Has anyone gone through this, what have you done?

5 REPLIES 5
Community Member

Solution: don't do jobs for which you are un-qualified. Only sell services that you can perform well.

As far as JSS is concerned, the impact of this job will go down with each successive job completion (and long-term contract qualification). And its effect will go down as a result of time (assuming you complete more jobs and receive positive feedback), because the JSS is the highest of 4 different time-period scores.

Yeah, the opportunities will be harder to convert into paying gigs. But it will eventually get easier. One nightmare client tanked my JSS from around 95% to 70%. That was three months ago, and I am now at 86%. To build back up, I just fought harder. I also bid low on smaller jobs for which I was significantly over-qualified, which enabled me to get some feedback. While their impact was small (because their revenue was comparatively small), my metrics did improve. So that is my recommendation to you: aggressively pursue small jobs for which you are over-qualified.

sullivanliz
Community Member

If you want to make a go of it here, it's best not to treat your clients so cavalierly. If they hire you to do a job they - quite rightly - expect you to be able to do the job.

feed_my_eyes
Community Member