🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Trouble getting hired.
Page options
thefriendlydog
Community Member

Trouble getting hired.

Hey everyone, 

I'm new to upwork. Less than a week on here and I'm having serious trouble finding work and spending my connects wisely. 

Does anyone have tips on how to identify real clients that are actually hiring US employees? 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thank you everyone. This is something I already knew... Sadly I've forgotten so much about American professionalism.

Thank you for the reminder, it's so much easier to do this than it is to construct a "likable guy" profile.

I hope that this freelancing venture will give me some new challenges and keeps my brain firing on all cylinders.

Thank you

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
yitwail
Community Member

Michael, if you mean you can't find jobs worth applying for, then you'll have to be patient and diligent looking for such jobs, and perhaps also look for jobs on other freelance platforms. As to identifying clients hiring US freelancers (as opposed to employees, because most jobs posted are for independent contractors, not employees in the legal sense), any job categorized as US Only should fit the bill, and you could also look at a client's hiring history and look at the profiles of freelancers they've hired, to see how many were from the US.

Michael P wrote:

Does anyone have tips on how to identify real clients that are actually hiring US employees? 

You are on the wrong site. Most clients on this site are looking for independent contractors aka consultants aka freelancers with the right skills and expertise to complete their project. They don't care where they are located (for the most part) as long as the job gets done satisfactorily.