🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Typing jobs - are they legit?
Page options
Community Member

Typing jobs - are they legit?

I am new to this platform and freelancing and I see all these offers for easy typing jobs, where PDF documents need to be retyped into ms Word. Since there are so many of these similar jobs, I was wondering if this is a real thing? Because don't converters for PDF to Word exist? I'm not sure how this could be a scam since payment goes via upwork, but I'm also not sure how this could be a real job.

25 REPLIES 25
ashrafkhan81
Community Member

That's the catch right here! The payment does not go through Upwork and they make you pay instead of paying you...so that's how it is a scam. 

Most of those jobs advertise very attractive compensation for simple jobs, people get attracted to it, the "client" then asks you for some kind of payment for "verification fee" or "Id card" or "security deposit" the payment asked is not very high but in return, you are promised high-income opportunity so many fall for it....like pay $50 for verification once everything is verified you can earn $800-$1000 each week ...

in some cases they fund the escrow and ask you to transfer part of that to their friends in need from your bank account once you do that, they charge back the transaction so they receive your payment and get their money back ...

since you are new, my advice to you is to stay away from "easy" money jobs, and if it looks suspicious it probably is...

Hello, I have this situation exactly, this is happening to me and I do not know what to do and how to make them to pay me back my money, can you please help me or if you know someone who can help or someone who has been scammed like this? I would appreciate it a lot... 

re: "Hello, I have this situation exactly, this is happening to me and I do not know what to do"

What you are supposed to do is learn from your mistakes and don't make those same mistakes again in the future.