🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » UK VAT
Page options
ruijrcosta
Community Member

UK VAT

Hi,

I'm a new freelancer based in the UK (Scotland, to be specific).

I know this question has been brought up many times, but I wondered if you could give me an answer.

If you're registered as a sole trader and don't have a VAT number, Upwork will charge you the VAT as the final customer for their service, the same way Sainsbury's does when you buy something there.

However, if you request a VAT number, does Upwork still charge you VAT? Or will you just pay VAT to HMRC? And if you pay it to HMRC, can you reclaim VAT at the end of the year?

Thank you

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Rui C wrote:

Hey Christine A,

That's great info. Thank you 🙂

But see if I had a VAT number, wouldn't it be the same money-wise? The 20% Upwork charges me, I'd just pay to HMRC, right? So I wouldn't have to overcharge anyone. I might be missing something here tho.

No, because Upwork doesn't charge VAT on the total value of your project, they only charge VAT on their service charge. So if you charge $100 for a project, Upwork deducts 20% ($20) plus 20% of that as VAT ($4). Whereas if you register for VAT, you/your client will owe HMRC 20% of $100 (the total project fee) - not 20% of $20 (Upwork's fee) - plus Upwork's service charge.

There's plenty of information online about the pros and cons if you want to look into it further. https://www.kashflow.com/should-i-register-for-vat/ But in general, it's not worth it if you're just getting started in freelancing.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
AleksandarD
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Rui,

Once you have your VAT number, you can add it by going to the Settings > Tax Information page. The tax ID that you submit must be in the format provided by VIES, or Upwork won't be able to validate it.