🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Unable to update my profile picture -- pr...
Page options
rachel-fox
Community Member

Unable to update my profile picture -- prescription glasses mistaken for 'sunglasses'.

I am a freelancer who is trying to update my profile so that I can start bidding for projects. However, every time I try, my profile picture is rejected because my glasses - which are tinted blue and worn to correct a disability, and imperative to my being able to work - are constantly mistaken for sunglasses. Again, the blue tint in my glasses is not a cosmetic choice, but to treat a disability, and I do not have another pair of glasses that I can just wear to substitute. I wear them all the time, both inside and outside of professional spheres; any colleague or client who has engaged with me in a professional setting has seen me wear them, and it has had no negative impact whatsoever on my ability to do my job and build a rapport with them. For these reasons, I don't see why I should be penalised for representing myself as I am in professional circles, just because it doesn't make sense to an image-reading algorithm. My profile is what potential clients use to decide if I am the freelancer they want working on their project, and that includes the profile picture. The fact that I cannot update my profile picture to a current representation of myself is actually impeding my ability to use this platform.

Below is an example of a profile photo, wearing my glasses. 

tumblr_pphxvicBpE1st57lw_540.jpg