cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unfair and unethical competition

kymera
nestor i Member Since: Mar 24, 2017
1 of 10

Hello, I'm an architect and I have been a member of upwork community for sometime.
I have noticed that as the community grows and time passes the competition is getting unfairer, I can see that this is very good for clients (professional work for cents) but it is diminishing my profession and all the physical and financial work we Architects have put in become independent and prepared (at least I have)
I wonder, Is upwork doing something to fight this unethical and unfair price abuse? is this going to become a Chinese market with no respect for intellectual property and creative honest work?

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 10

re: "I have noticed that as the community grows and time passes the competition is getting unfairer"

I sort of agree.

The more I work on Upwork, the better my work history gets and the more I feel like I have an "unfair" advantage over any other freelancer who applies to the same jobs that I do.

But fortunately I rarely apply to jobs. So for the most part, my competition doesn't need to worry.

charles_kozierok
Community Guru
Charles K Member Since: Mar 6, 2017
3 of 10

This is an open marketplace. You compete on the basis of your capabilities, experience, and ability to convince clients that you are worth hiring.

Yes, there's a lot of competition. Yes, that's better for clients than freelancers.

What would you like Upwork to do about it?

What's "unethical"? Who decides what "price abuse" is?

If you have a specific complaint, explain it. Preferably without the nationalistic implications.

yitwail
Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
4 of 10