🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Unpaid Training
Page options
iamchlrslopez
Community Member

Unpaid Training

Hi, I am just new to Upwork. I have a client who sent me contract immediately though I never did really applied to him in the first place. He invited me for zoom interview and I accepted it. He explained to me the scope of work including the Business he's in. He said, he is just new to Upwork that's why his payment method were not verified yet. Our starting date will be next week however, a week before the start date, we are having a training which is 1-2hours per day. He also told me to study and review the job description and the task I'll handle which I did on my free time. Manual time is allowed too!

My question is, is it okay to ask for additional payment for the training? I believe I will not be paid for it for the contract will start just yet. This is for a long term project by the way. If yes, how can I ask additional payment? Should I tell him directly or should I make a proposal for it? How much would I tell him?

I'm hesitant to ask my client about this. Please help! Thanks.

-Cy
ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ah, no, if the contract doesn't start until next week you can't. Talk to the client!

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Chlarise L wrote:
Hi, I am just new to Upwork. I have a client who sent me contract immediately though I never did really applied to him in the first place. He invited me for zoom interview and I accepted it. He explained to me the scope of work including the Business he's in. He said, he is just new to Upwork that's why his payment method were not verified yet. Our starting date will be next week however, a week before the start date, we are having a training which is 1-2hours per day. He also told me to study and review the job description and the task I'll handle which I did on my free time. Manual time is allowed too!