cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Unresponsive Client

lextabi
Lex Joseph T Member Since: Jul 22, 2017
1 of 9

I got a project from **(Removed org name)** (via Upwork and i was selected as a candidate. After that "Client" advised me to add her via skype. So she told me about the project, was given a task and started the job. (I'm not sure how this works because it's my first project here at upwork so i did it) 2 days past and i'm still tagged as a candidate but i'm actually doing the project 4-5 hours a day. after a week of working i started to get worried, because i'm not being updated on how i get paid, and i'm still tagged as a candidate via upwork. Please help me with this as i've been working hard for this person and i'm not getting any response ever since. 

lysis10
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
2 of 9

you're never getting paid

you got suckered into working for free

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 9

Lex Joseph:

This was not a real job. You will not receive any money.

But that's okay!

You have learned much from this experience. You made many mistakes, but many newbies (who don't read the instructions) do the same. So don't take it personally, and don't let it get you down.

In the future, you will never work without an official Upwork contract in place.

Always look here:

Upwork -> My Jobs -> My Jobs

If no contract is listed there, you don't work for that client.

lextabi
4 of 9

Yeah, looks like it. Learned from my mistake though. I'm just new in Upwork and i got excited and everything. Will never happen again. Thanks for responding to my post. 

melaniemaghanoy
Community Guru
Lanie M Member Since: Jun 24, 2015
5 of 9

Hi Lex,

Thank you for your report. I will forward this to our Team for further checking and appropriate action towards the client.