🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Unresponsive client after the work is don...
Page options
acd683c9
Community Member

Unresponsive client after the work is done

Hi,

I am new to Upwork, joined last year in December. Just recently I got a fixed contract. Since it was of less amount I didn't set any milestone and after completing what was his issue, I pushed the code. I tried to be a good freelancer and advised him I will change some of the code for good. He was very unresponsive from the beginning. Later even he told me to fix other things as well. I did that too.

Finally, when I told him "I think your initial issue is fixed, let's wrap this here." He told me my code messed their project even more! I asked him like what and tell me what's the issue? But he didn't respond. He is still not responding.

What can I do in this situation? Can Upwork help me? Should I submit and close the contract?

Sincerely,

Kakar

11 REPLIES 11
petra_r
Community Member

Kakar N wrote:

What can I do in this situation? Can Upwork help me?

No. There isn't really anything to help you with anyway. You should have submitted the work when it was done. You can obviously submit it now, and if the client does not dispute or ask for changes, you get paid in 14 days.

If you submit, do not close the contract until you get the funds or the money goes back to the client.

acd683c9
Community Member

Can I close the contract without submitting the work? It's just $10 and I don't want to be greedy and lose my reputation, because I think he will certainly leave bad feedback no matter what.

ashrafkhan81
Community Member

If you start or complete the work without a milestone and funds in Escrow for whatever reason, whether it is because you trust the client, or you feel the amount is too small you should be prepared to lose that amount!