Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unresponsive clients

captain1715
Ace Contributor
Chelsea F Member Since: Jan 15, 2018
1 of 13

Hi,

I am just starting out on UpWork and have some questions about dealing with unresponsive clients.  I have "completed" five jobs so far, but two of my clients have yet to pay.  My first client started our contract as hourly, but the number of hours I was working on the project quickly exceeded her budget.  As I didn't want to go over budget with my first client, I entered my hours manually to reflect a lower amount. I sent her a final product and she thanked me and said I did a great job, but has yet to pay me.  I have contacted her twice, but have had no reply in over a week. Do I just need to cut my losses and learn from this experience?

My second client was a fixed-price contract and I think I fell victim to "scope creep." The client kept asking for more and so I ended up sending many more revisions than initially agreed upon. After I sent her the final product, she said she "needed a few days to review it" before she approved the payment. She has not responded to my messages since then (3 days ago).

I am a scientist and (almost!) doctor and so provide quite a niche service for non-native English speakers looking for editors for scientific publications prior to submission.  My rate is approximately 5X less than that offered by most academic journals for similar services. I enjoy the work and love helping people communicate science effectively, but I want to make sure I am not getting ripped off. My second client now has a very well-edited manuscript that took me hours of work and I have no money... 

My guess is that these two particular cases may be lost causes, but if anyone has advice about how to avoid such situations in the future, please let me know. 

Thanks!

Chelsea 

tlsanders
Community Guru
Tiffany S Member Since: Jan 15, 2016
BEST ANSWER
2 of 13