cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unwarranted Negative Review From Client

vanessaronnie
Active

Good evening!  I am new to Upwork -- only been on here since January and have worked from one client. I was asked to leave feedback for them -- which I did -- and after doing so, was able to see the feeback they left for me. I could have said some very negative things, but I just want to move on and find other work. That being said, I was shocked to see that the client themselves left negative feedback for me, which I fear now will impact my ability to get other assignments. I've looked at the client's feedback history and there were quite a bit of negatives, all things I could attest to, but I didn't see the point in leaving anything negative. I did my job, which in turn, caused the client to let me  go. So, in the event that something like this happens, are freelancers able to dispute the feedback, hide it, delete it, something? I was let go for following industry best practices, which the client felt was illogical. I still cannot wrap my head around it. If anyone has any advice, I would appreciate it.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
booksist
Community Guru

Hi Vanessa,

We’ve all been through this one way or another – some clients are so hard to work with, and their impact on our success score is not so great. The good thing is this would probably never happen to you again. As Petra pointed out – the time to check a client’s reviews is before accepting the job.

On the other hand, I don’t think you’ve mistaken that badly. I am sure that most freelancers would embrace the opportunity to work for anyone who actually does spend thousands of dollars on the platform, especially if they are new.