Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Up work is very unrewarding for new freelancers

96137c0c
Gemma B Member Since: Jan 27, 2021
1 of 23

Hi,

I wanted to raise this with the dev team and also the communtiy. I've been using the site for 6 months. I find it really unrewarding when i spend time on an application and hear nothing from the clients. Half the time they dont even close their job. 

To solve this could their not be a simple 'decline' or 'accept' button client side that sends a nice automated message to the freelancer that the client HAS to use?

If the freelancers are putting in the time then the client should be made to at least acknowlegde applications. I even had a phone interview the other and heard nothing. Its incredibly rude and does not spur me on to use the site.

I just feel something needs to be done to make freelancers feel more appreciated seeing as we have to pay too.

G Smiley Happy

growmyretail
Ace Contributor
Pieter B Member Since: Apr 2, 2020
2 of 23

I would say it is not needed.

It's like HR and recruiting departments for a firm or company.
The average time spent on a resume or application or when you apply for a job is about 3 seconds tops (something in that area). Unless you stand out from the first second. 
All that hard work you spent on a tailored cover letter and your polished resume is just gone in a blink of an eye.
And that is how traditional HR works.

Imagine a client/employer on a digital platform, that has to go over tons of applications. It is in their right to just throw it in the bin, ignore it and focus/spend their time on the ones that do stand out from the very first millisecond.

When you apply for a job here on UpWork, what should stand out is your headline, mine is: 

Management | Corporate DNA | Finance | Digital Strategist, which I am planning to adapt now in a more focused market.

Ratings and score

and most likely the first sentence you write when applying.