🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » UpWork should by law charge GST to my Austral...
Page options
janklan
Community Member

UpWork should by law charge GST to my Australian customers - but doesn't

I'm trying to wrap my head around how the UpWork cash flow goes, and how to record it correctly in my accounting books. 

Context: I'm an Australian resident, subject of Australian GST. I'm registered for GST and when I issue an invoice, I automatically add a 10% GST on whatever amount I charge. Customers pay the invoice with the GST and then I remit the GST portion to the ATO on a regular basis. 

The problem: UpWork issues invoices on my behalf, as if I did it (see the attached file). When such invoice goes to an Australian customer, I am required by law to charge the GST. If I fail to do so, I may be liable to pay the GST portion even the customer wasn't charged GST: https://www.ato.gov.au/Business/GST/Registering-for-GST/#WorkingoutyourGSTturnover1 

"If you don't register for GST and are required to, you may have to pay GST on sales made since the date you were required to register. This could happen even if you didn't include GST in the price of those sales.

You may also have to pay penalties and interest."

Either the invoices can't be issued with my business name in it, or they have to include the GST portion, when the counterpart is also subject of the GST. 

Or is there a third option? Is there an UpWork setting I missed? 

Please advise.

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
janklan
Community Member

A May 2020 update for all interested parties: UpWork has not fixed this yet.

Invoices issued on your behalf are not valid tax invoices for GST purposes as required by the ATO.