🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Upwork 2023 Something changed drastically?
Page options
inssect
Community Member

Upwork 2023 Something changed drastically?

Hello everyone 🙂

I am a Graphic Designer and Illustrator from Montenegro (a beautiful small Mediterranean country in the middle of Europe). I worked on the platform for almost 10 years now. You can check out my profile here if you are interested. @https://www.upwork.com/freelancers/~01f33b9c23e878714d
I noticed something drastically changed on Upwok from the beginning of 2023, maybe a couple of months earlier than that.
Invitations from clients dried out (which I was getting pretty regularly before, not too many but consistent), even after applying to jobs more than I usually do. I used to get replies after every couple of proposals I sent (my profile is complete, a lot of portfolio items, I really love what I do, etc.) But recently it seems like everything slowed down drastically.

I noticed that other freelancers are complaining about that too, but maybe I am just looking for what I want to hear :).
And I am sorry if this topic has been addressed already, I would just love to hear more about it from other successful freelancers.

Is there an explanation for why this is happening? Something I should be aware of? ....except of course: The global Pandemic, War in Europe, Recession, People being cautious about the uncertain future, etc. which can very well be the reason for all of this - these are all big reasons I am sure.
But is there something that changed in how Upwork does business and how they plan to do things in the future, am I missing something here? Maybe they choose not to promote my work anymore because they have a different strategy. (for example: maybe only the top 1% of best freelancers are getting jobs, or something similar (just an example))