🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Upwork Allows Clients to use Feedback to abus...
Page options
e201019f
Community Member

Upwork Allows Clients to use Feedback to abuse Freelancers

I have a long history of hiring people on freelance sites but I just recently signed up as a freelancer myself. I can tell you that I am very disappointed in how Upwork handles their abuse cases. I will not recommend Upwork for either hiring or freelancing. 

I recently had a customer say they were short on cash this week, so they needed me to delete my hours then add them back next week.  There were no complaints about my work at the time. 

I contacted Upwork and explained the situation. I already knew they wouldn't guarantee the hours if I manually put them in. I just wanted to be able to give the client Upwork's suggestion. Upwork, of course, told me not to delete the hours if I had actually worked them. Which obviously I had, this was not in question. 

I explained to the client that I could not delete the hours. He then tried to be aggressive saying that I would suffer miserable result if I did not delete my hours. I told him that I could not do that. He then began to complain about my work. So I asked for input on what could change. He could not give any opinion on what to improve.

A few hours later he tries to be nice again. He promises me to pay the hours and a bonus if I just delete my time now. I tell him that I can not do this and that I would like him to end the contract. 

At this time I've also contacted the security department who is supposed to be looking into it. The agent I spoke with actually stated that cash flow was likely the cause of their attitude and not my work. However, the client isn't removed from the system even though they are clearly violating the ToS while abusing freelancers.