🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Upwork Desktop App in the context of Envi...
Page options
maksymganenko
Community Member

Upwork Desktop App in the context of Environmentalism

Hello,

I've been working with Upwork for several years and I can say that I got very annoyed with its desktop application. Someone got a great idea that javascript is a good language for instant messenger and time tracker. As a result the desktop application eats 7-10% of CPU in idle mode. I work within MacOS and Arch Linux OS and both show the same behavior.

Well, 7-10% might not sound too loud, but imagine that when you work on laptop it drains battery quickly. C'mon, that just time tracker and instant messenger. Why should it consume so much CPU resources? Why I can't see, say, Slack or Telegram within my top-10 idle consumers?

Now multiply 7-10% of CPU usage onto all Upwork online freelancers they like to boast. I wonder why eco activists haven't noticed this nuisance yet. Imagine how much danger Upwork does to the environment with a sh#tty code of its main application!

What do you think, guys? Is it only me who cares to have better experience with Upwork Application?

5 REPLIES 5
JoanneP

Hi Maksym,

If you are using a Windows PC and will be performing more complex tasks, I would suggest investigating the optimal requirements of the programs you`ll need to install on your computer. If you`re only using the Upwork Desktop App to track your time, it will use less than 256MB. You can also view the performance by opening your task manager. From there, you can also check your background programs to see how much CPU they consume. 

For MacOS computers, you may refer to the troubleshooting steps shared in this help article under Excessive CPU Usage (Mac). Thank you.

~ Joanne
Upwork

Hi, Joanne Marie P,

It didn't help. Even if I select "Conserve CPU and memory" Upwork Desktop App still consumes 7-15% of CPU.