🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Upwork Double Dipping on Freelancer Bonus...
Page options
jackie_linn
Community Member

Upwork Double Dipping on Freelancer Bonuses

I am a freelancer and recently received a bonus from a client.  I was shocked to find that Upwork charged me 20% for the initial job, and charged again (separately) another 20% on the bonus.  The job and the bonus were paid at the exact same time.  It's bad enough they take money from bonuses we earn, but to double-dip on the 20% (separately) is just wrong, especially now that freelancers are having to buy more connects to compete.

Greed is not good.  

19 REPLIES 19
paywell
Community Member

Double-dipping is submerging the same chip (or crisp) in a shared sauce container, after having already taken a bite.

A bonus payment is subjected to a 5-20% service-fee once, just like all other client payments are.

Otherwise, this type of payment could and would be used as a loophole to avoid the fee.

feed_my_eyes
Community Member

A payment is a payment, regardless of whether it's called a bonus or not, and Upwork takes 20 percent of the first $500. I don't see how that's "double dipping"? If you charge a client $100, Upwork takes $20, and if you charge $50 and get a $50 bonus, they still charge $20. Why do you think that you shouldn't pay the same commission just because your payment was split up?

yofazza
Community Member

Charging fee to a bonus isn't normal in where I live. They often make it clear by writing something like "this bonus will all goes to [theprovidername]".

It's like tipping don't you think?

What about Uber/similar service in the US? If a rider give bonus, will all of it goes to the driver? Our ride hailing service here don't do that (all bonus goes to driver).

Of course there are concerns such as "people will circumvent etc" but that's a different matter with different solutions and also just an "excuse" if used as a reason to charge fees to a "bonus".