🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Upwork Policy regarding mediation and arbitra...
Page options
netskychief
Community Member

Upwork Policy regarding mediation and arbitration is client supportive

I am new to upwork and had done 42 contracts so far and its my first dispute. 

The client has extended the requirements and making me to add extra features within the 180$ budget. I submitted him 4 multiple revisions regarding design and functionality. At the end he start demanding to be like a 1000$ scope with 180$. Asking me to implement 79 api's which will be almost 50 plus screens. Try to understand but didn't. I have no options except dispute. So i disputed the amount and upwork mediation team start handling it. I shocked when they offer me half 90$ and ask to take off the dispute. Otherwise for arbitration need to pay almost 290$ from each other. If you would not pay fee for arbitration then amount will be refunded to the client.

The total project cost is 180$. Why am i suppose to pay 290$ for arbitration.

Any kind of proof of work is meaningless. Client will always be the winner. Freelancer will always be sacrified in each and every state. Now i am in a state that client always say no to pay and asking me to do over work with same budget ,until i reached 1000$ scope.

For upwork mediation team its important to convince the client and push the freelancer to end the dispute. Otherwise payment will be given to the client at the end. 

No Merit policy. Nothing here.

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

To avoid a situation like this: Only accept hourly contracts.

I don't think so that its a perfect solution. Hourly contracts has also many dispute at different level.

wlyonsatl
Community Member

Muhammad Tayyab A.,