🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Upwork and the way it allows clients to c...
Page options
ridge_melville
Community Member

Upwork and the way it allows clients to choose their budget price for work in certain industries.

Hello everybody!

I just wanted to bring this discussion to light. I am a resume writer specifically. So in my job feed I mostly look for jobs around resume writing, content writing, LinkedIn writing etc. 

But what really grinds my gears of what I see a lot of clients doing is under budgetting a job in such a way that of course no one will write a proposal for it. An example of what I mean:

- The client writes a job posting. They want their Resume written, 3 cover letters written for different jobs and their LinkedIn rewritten so they are more likely to get the jobs they're after. It needs to be ATS keyword ranked and delivered in 5 days. The Budget they offer: $10.00

The job itself is fine. The budget is not. How does Upwork allow clients to write an absolutely ridiculous budget for an industry like resume writing? I would think that Upwork would have a "tip" in the job posting saying freelancers in this industry usually get paid a budget between "$XX and $XXX" and doesn't allow for the client to put in an amount under a certain limit. 

Of course I have the choice of not writing a proposal for the jobs like this and I don't. But I'd love a standard set where they outline how much freelancers are paid on average per industry and set a range for clients to work out what they are willing to spend. Then from here let the freelancers make bids. 

What are other peoples thoughts about this?

7 REPLIES 7
g_vasilevski
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Hi Ridge,

Thanks for your question. At Upwork, the terms of any contract, including the rate, are for clients and freelancers to decide upon together. Any freelancer who is not satisfied with the rate offered can negotiate a higher rate or find a project they consider to be more suitable.