🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Upwork call vs Phone call
Page options
dsmgdesign
Community Member

Upwork call vs Phone call

I have a meeting with a prospective client today, and ofcourse we have to use Upwork's communication tools since no contract is in place yet. I have never used Upwork's communication tools before, and I find Upwork's help section severely lacking, so coming to the community for answers. 

To preface my question, I'm assuming an "Upwork Call" is a video call, and a "Phone call" is an audio call, correct? 

The Help section says something about creating a link for a video call. So, does selecting "Upwork call" automatically create a link? Can my client and I use this link at a later time that we schedule together, or does the link expire after a certain period of time? 

11 REPLIES 11
wlyonsatl
Community Member

Upwork's VOIP app can be used for either an audio call or an audio with video call.

Each user needs to choose which they prefer. You don't need to "create" a link; just click on the telephone handset-shaped call and the recipient will be notified of an incoming call.

When I use the app I agree with the client what day and time we'll talk, then one of us uses the system to initiate a call with the other.

You can share screens.

Will L wrote:

Upwork's VOIP app can be used for either an audio call or an audio with video call.

Each user needs to choose which they prefer. You don't need to "create" a link; just click on the telephone handset-shaped call and the recipient will be notified of an incoming call.

When I use the app I agree with the client what day and time we'll talk, then one of us uses the system to initiate a call with the other.

You can share screens.

Right, but when I click on that phone icon, I have 2 options: An "Upwork Call" or a "Phone call" ...I'm assuming an "Upwork Call" is the video call, and the "Phone call" is the audio call. Correct?