🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Upwork disabled my financial account with no ...
Page options
ashik_ishtiaque
Community Member

Upwork disabled my financial account with no clear resolution

Hello,

Request #30513251

I have been working on Upwork since 2017 and have completed hundreds of projects, but this is the first time my financial account got disabled.

I completed a project for a client on December 9. After I delivered the project, the client checked everything and released the payment. But on Decemeber 23, the client opened a dispute falsely claiming that the project was not delivered properly, and he wanted a full refund for that. He produced no evidence to support his claim.

I was asked by Upwork support team to provide Proof of Work, to which I promptly responded. However, on December 28 Upwork Dispute Team sent me another message saying that the client wants a refund and whether I can do that or if I have any other proposal.

Unfortunately that very day I got seriously sick and had to be hospitalized. I was sick for more than a week.

On January 2, Upwork sent me another message reminding me to send a reply or they may put limits on my account. On January 9, Upwork limited my financial account. Upwork Dispute Team told me that I would need to contact the client to lift limits from my account.

As I had been sick the whole time, I could not respond to the messages. When I got home on January 9, I replied back to that Dispute Team with all the requested information. But since then, Upwork Dispute Team has gone completely silent.

It has been more than a week since my financial account has been disabled. Upwork keeps asking me to contact the client. I have sent him multiple messages, the first message dating back 8 days. He is completely unresponsive.