🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Upwork does not recognize Republic of Cyp...
Page options
artemalbul
Community Member

Upwork does not recognize Republic of Cyprus as a European Country

Hi, Upwork Community!

I am a freelancer from Cyprus.

When Upwork shows me jobs for Europe (a requirement from Job publisher) it shoes me red circle with an exclamation mark, meaning that I am not from Europe, so I am not eligible for this Job. I think it's a mistake, because Cyprus is a European country.

I tryed to contact Upwork Support, but failed - Upwork directed me here.

Does anybody have any idea how to fix this bug?

Thanks a lot for your help!

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

11 REPLIES 11
AleksandarD
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Artem,

Upwork uses the United Nations geoscheme to define regions within Europe. This geoscheme groups Cyprus into Western Asia. So I'd like to confirm that this current behavior is by design. 

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Upwork

Location is never a requirement, just a suggestion.  You may apply to any job that you can do well.

Aleksandar D wrote:

Hi Artem,

Upwork uses the United Nations geoscheme to define regions within Europe. This geoscheme groups Cyprus into Western Asia. So I'd like to confirm that this current behavior is by design. 

Thank you.

Aleksander, would you please get the Upwork team to read this: 

https://europa.eu/european-union/about-eu/countries/member-countries/cyprus_en

Cyprus (the entire Island Greek and Turkish) is a member of the EU. There are certain restrictions for the Turkish side , and Turkish is not one of the official EU languages. However, Cyprus is European not Asian. 

Aleksandar D wrote:

Hi Artem,

Thank you.

Dear Alexandar,

That geoscheme you referred to has issued in 1999 (pls, see a screnshot attached "issued in 1999.png"), so it is outdated, beacuse Republic of Cyprus is:

- a member of European Union since 2004;

- and has EURO currency since 2008.

Prooflink: