🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Upwork exchange rate is way lower than Naira ...
Page options
rancyy
Community Member

Upwork exchange rate is way lower than Naira value. Upwork pays lower value(#360.999 Naira). And cha

Upwork exchange rate is way lower than Naira value. Upwork pays lower value(#360.999 Naira). And charges current #477 naira(current naira rate) for 1 connect . This is unfair. You should pay us same value for our money. Thank you. I look forward to the Upwork team on fixing this.
26 REPLIES 26
JoanneP

Hi Ijeoma,

The exchange rate used when you withdraw your funds is provided by our payment processor and this is not something Upwork can control. Since rates constantly change throughout any given day, the rate you received is the rate offered by our bank at the time your specific transaction was processed.

~ Joanne
Upwork

Hi Upwork, I'm a top-rated freelancer on here and I want to bring my non-Upwork clients to this platform via direct contracts and honestly, the Upwork fee of 3.4% is really good but this Dollar conversion rate issue is really hindering me of doing so, where the client will pay at a higher rate and I'll get the pay at a lower rate, making me lose up to 20% of the pay when I can simply be paid directly by the non-Upwork client and not lose a dime. you really need to address this issue, or better yet work with other currencies without converting to the dollar first.

endytech
Community Member

Hello Joanne,
When buying connects, we convert #471 to $1, but when Upwork wants to pay into Nigeria, the exchange rate becomes $1 to #361. Isn't that double standards?

How can we exchange Naira at a very high rate to dollars but receive payments at a very low rate at the same time? I do not understand this calculations at all.

Hi Gabriel,