Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Upwork newbie - Questions about FP & MIlestones

Highlighted
Viel Russel F Member Since: Nov 26, 2015
1 of 6

Hi all,

I'm a total noob in using UpWork so please bear with my stupidity as I ask these questions:

1. My client hired me for a fixed price work and completed the work in 2 weeks-span. I have received the offer, click accepted. Sent him my work and received a message saying: 

"The milestone "JOB POST NAME", due date: [DATE] on contract [CONTRACT NUMBER] has been approved."

Then, what should I do next? I read in a docs that I should click "End Contract", is it correct?

2. I checked the Reports and it says "Pending", what should  I do?

I have read the legal terms of Escrow but didn't really get it. Sorry, can someone please enlighten me? 

Thanks in advance!

Highlighted
Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
BEST ANSWER
2 of 6

Hi Viel Russel and welcome to the Community!

I have checked the job you are referring to and can confirm that the funds were released to you and will become available to you after the standard 6-days security period.

As for closing the job, we recommend communicating with your client and asking him to close the contract unless there are some additional milestones that need to be completed. When the client closes the contract he will be required to leave feedback which will help you build your reputation on Upwork.

~ Valeria
Untitled

View solution in original post

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 6

Congratulations, Viel!

Lots of new contractors make mistakes with fixed-price contracts. But you basically did everything right.

All you need to do now is wait.

Wait a few more days, and you'll be able to withdraw all the money you earned into your own personal bank account/PayPal/Skrill (whatever you use).

There is still an open contract. It is good to get a contract closed once the work has been done.