🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Upwork no longer viable: Why have connects in...
Page options
danielmfriedman
Community Member

Upwork no longer viable: Why have connects increased and other problems

I am a top-rated freelancer with great reviews and an 100% job success rate. I am finding it impossible to make anything close to decent money on Upwork, whereas in the past I did well. I wanted to reach out to see if any other freelancers are experiencing similar problems. There are two factors I would imagine fueling this problem...

1) Connects - applying for a job used to take between 2 and 6 connects, now it takes between 8 and 16. Has this change been made because Upwork wasn't making enough money?

2) ChatGPT - this is a bigger and deeper problem than the one regarding connects - I am a writer and since the rise of ChatGPT I get a small percentage of the work I used to get. 

If anyone has any insights (especially on the first problem, as the second problem - of writing becoming obsolete thanks to AI, is not really possible to solve), please let me know. It may just be good to learn if others are going through the same thing. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

There are too many freelancers in general, and clients know that they can pay low rates for non-AI, professionally written content, as it seems, like on an eBay site for example, price is king, regardless of quality.

Seems like there aren't enough hours in the day to write enough 1,000 word, thoroughly thought out pieces of content to make it worth the time, to get $20, minus Upwork's cut.

The trick is to find the diamonds in the rough, that you can uniquely serve, who are willing to pay decent wages, but yet again, the cost of connects is higher now, and to come back full circle, too many people competing. These are the corporate clients, who are willing to pay the higher rates for true quality.