🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Upwork's monthly Free Connect
Page options
bellalca
Community Member

Upwork's monthly Free Connect

Dear Freelancer,

I have been working as a freelancer Since 2011. But I think Upwork's monthly Free Connects isn't enough for any Freelancer. Can you emagine how many connects need to apply on a job post? How many monthly Free Connects? How many application can do in a month? In this case most of the freelancer need to buy connects. But every freelaner came here to earn money. There will no chance to grow a new freelancer in this way. I think it is a harmful steps for our future Freelancer. Finally I think Upworks need to more easy for freelancer. Thanks.

5 REPLIES 5
2779bde0
Community Member

It isn't up to Upwork to "grow" freelancers. Many people come here expecting to be handed jobs with noting more than a basic (or minimal) profile, no work examples, and very few connects.

What are you bringing to the table, to grow yourself? It costs money to make money. It costs Upwork money to run this website. One of the ways they generate revenue is to charge connect fees. The other way is through the fees they make as a percentage of money freelancers earn.

Spend some time in the forums. Upwork doesn't exist for the benefit of freelancers. If you want to succeed as a self-employed freelancer, you have to participate in the prcess. There are way too many freelancers here already. What do you have to offer to potential clients that nobody else is offering? Start there.

the-right-writer
Community Member

Read what Martin wrote, because he is correct. It's not all about the freelancer.

Yes, freelancers need to buy connects. Connects are part of your business expenses, just like Internet, programs, subscriptions, etc. As a self-employed individual, you have to pay for everything, including job access.