🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Upwork time tracking
Page options
sylvachoucair
Community Member

Upwork time tracking

Hi ! 
Im an interior architect wworking on UPwork.
I have an issue with the Desktop time tracker.
I have a project that requires a videowalk through. 
That being said, inorder to do the video forthe client i need to set my rendering unit on where i cannot work anymore on the unit since it is supposed to be untoched for the video to render. 

I had my time tracker on but the hours were not automatically logged. I ended up manually doing this. 
My client seems very nice and cool. We havent had any dispute regaarding the matter. But, i want to prevent any dispute from happening before it even happens. I mean its the clients full right to know why my houres are not automatically logged with screenshots every 10 minutes ! 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Sylva C wrote:

We have not yet negotiated the price per hour for the rendering,

This is something that absolutely MUST be discussed and agreed upon before the contract even starts. 

That said, the tracker only captures time you spend actively working. There is no way (well, no way that won't get you suspended) to make it track time that has no keyboard or mouse activity.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
petra_r
Community Member

Sylva C wrote:

That being said, inorder to do the video forthe client i need to set my rendering unit on where i cannot work anymore on the unit since it is supposed to be untoched for the video to render. 

I had my time tracker on but the hours were not automatically logged. I ended up manually doing this. 

You charge the full hourly rate for the computer rendering? Even though you're not actually working? I can see that going wrong pretty quickly... Did you tell the client that you'll be doing that?