🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Upwork wants me to pay them money
Page options
katie_zimpel
Community Member

Upwork wants me to pay them money

A payment made to my account has been reversed by my client’s bank. So now Upwork is asking me to pay that money back or to contact my client.  They've also block my ability to withdraw funds until I pay the money back. 

Why should I contact my client if there's a problem with HIS billing method? Isn't that Upwork's jobs? Why am I paying all these fees to Upwork to verfify and secure payment if they're not going to verify and secure payment? 

I shouldn't be punished and have my hard earned money taken away because Upwork is not doing it's job. This is disgusting. I'm a Top Rated designer and have paid thousands in fees to Upwork. 

49 REPLIES 49
wlyonsatl
Community Member

Was this an hourly project, Katie?

Yes

Katie A wrote:

Yes

Did you track your hours with the Upwork tracker, has meaningful memos and reasonable activity levels?

In that case you should be protected.

Hmmm.

I do hourly projects almost exclusively and rarely have a problem with a client's payment, but when there is a problem with the client's payment Upwork usually stands behind its payment protection program.

However, there was one case where Upwork clawed back a small portion of the total payments made to me by such a client that Upwork said didn't qualify for protection due to some of my memos not being sufficient in some way. No real explanation was provided to me, so I never knew where the exact error was.

In all other cases where there has been a problem with an hourly client's payment method, Upwork has paid me in full for my hours booked.

If Upwork's payment protection doesn't apply to a client's fraudulent use of a credit card, that's news to me. I see no proviso in Upwork's documentation to that effect and I've never see an example in my own Upwork projects.