🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Upwork wants me to pay them money
Page options
katie_zimpel
Community Member

Upwork wants me to pay them money

A payment made to my account has been reversed by my client’s bank. So now Upwork is asking me to pay that money back or to contact my client.  They've also block my ability to withdraw funds until I pay the money back. 

Why should I contact my client if there's a problem with HIS billing method? Isn't that Upwork's jobs? Why am I paying all these fees to Upwork to verfify and secure payment if they're not going to verify and secure payment? 

I shouldn't be punished and have my hard earned money taken away because Upwork is not doing it's job. This is disgusting. I'm a Top Rated designer and have paid thousands in fees to Upwork. 

49 REPLIES 49

As you can tell, I'm not ready to let this go yet. Haha.

Katie - If you have tracking snapshots of the hourly work you did, and if you have memos in those snapshots, you have Upwork's protection for those hours that you worked. You have never said whether you have such tracking for your work so it is a bit difficult for anyone here to try and help you.

Joan S wrote:

You have never said whether you have such tracking for your work

Time to drop it. No answer is an answer. It's obvious that the hours weren't protected. No point beating a dead horse.

Oh, OK, Petra - sorry if I offended you.

Katie A wrote:

As you can tell, I'm not ready to let this go yet. Haha.

I'm happy to hear that you are cooperating with Upwork as they work to resolve this matter.

Katie A wrote:

Also, what is being done about scammers stealing profiles and charging clients? 

If found, they are suspended and banned. It's something Upwork go after very aggressively, but suspending the freelancer and closing their account doesn't get the client their money back. Like you, that freelancer likely withdrew the money.

Usually the profiles aren't stolen though, they are "rented" or "bought"