🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Using a VPN to protect my security while usin...
Page options
horgan_sean
Community Member

Using a VPN to protect my security while using Upwork???

I am an Upwork freelancer living in Indiana. I won't get into the details, but in the recent past, I've had some problems with my private data being exposed. Therefore, I am thinking about getting a VPN. Unfortunately, there aren't any VPNs that I know of that have servers in Indianapolis. I think the closest one is in Chicago (which is only three hours away).

I honestly just want to protect my information, and I have an Indiana ID to prove that I am a resident here and not someone living abroad (or anything like that).
Will Upwork flag me if I use a VPN?

If they do, can I just explain my situation and verify my identity by showing them my ID?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Yes. You might be asked to show your ID at some point, or do video interview verification. I have done those things, and it is to be expected.

It is unlikely that VPN issues would trigger such a request, but if they did, yes... showing your ID is probably all that would be asked.

Overall I think you are far more concerned about VPN than you need to be. Upwork really isn't the "VPN police". And they aren't the "IP address police." Lots of Upwork users use VPN.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
prestonhunter
Community Member

Upwork does not have any rules prohibiting users from using VPN.

But Upwork has many automated algorithms and procedures in place designed to identify misuse of their platform.

As long as you aren't using VPN to break the rules, you will be fine. If a freelancer was trying to use VPN to violate Upwork TOS, then there is a strong possibility that they would be caught and have their account suspended or terminated. Not for the VPN use, but for the rule violation.