🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » VENT: Hardly any work in 2022 and getting wor...
Page options
sanders_tabitha
Community Member

VENT: Hardly any work in 2022 and getting worse...

Hi all, 

I have been a part of the Upwork community for about five years now, and I have been relatively successful for most of that time. That said, I have not been able to find enough consistent work with quality clients to pay my bills this past year. 

I am a talented writer, proofreader, and editor. I have almost six years of proven experience. I always provide top-notch work for clients. I have TONS of excellent reviews on my profile. I set a fair rate for my services, and I've even tried negotiating down to land gigs. I have branched outside of Upwork, created my own website, made and distributed business cards, and still nothing. 

Anyone else? 

I'm just so frustrated. 

Is there just no work available? Do I suck? Are my prices too high? Are there too many freaking people in the world to find work? 

I just needed to vent, but I would seriously appreciate others' insights or advice. 

Thanks,

T

6 REPLIES 6
jeremiah-brown
Community Member

Is writing an oversaturated market?  If so, that would be one of the biggest contributors to a lack of work. 

Also look at the barrier to entry for a given job.  Is there a significant investment to get started as a writer?  Can you start with as little as a computer?  What type of investment is required to start doing what you do?  Those answers are a good indicator of how easily other people will make an entry into the same field of work.  A high barrier to entry is a significant investment and requires more skin in the game.  A low barrier to entry can result in a flood of workers seeking easy money.

So what can you do?  Specialization is one consideration.  Do you specialize in any certain areas?  Any specialized knowledge in one area more than others?  Market that.  What differentiates you from your competition?