🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Very confusing client that seems to be asking...
Page options
anateia
Community Member

Very confusing client that seems to be asking for extra work?

Hi guys! I'm very new to the freelance world and I have no one to ask about this stuff, so I'm just sitting here panicking.

This client is very strange and very hard to communicate with - even though they clearly speak english they way they express themselves has been a constant source of confusion. I definitely tried asking for clarification, it's just been more-or-less unhelpful.

Now they seem to be asking for something that was not mentioned in the initial proposal. I have tracked my work through the app and I have searched through the conversation looking for any mention of this extra item they want done, and this is the first time it was brought up. I told them that they didn't mention another complex drawing in their proposal and that it was described as "1 small text".

They haven't replied yet, but otherwise, I don't know how to handle this situation. If I refuse to do that work can they withhold the rest of the pay, even if I do all that is mentioned in the proposal? They paid by milestones, and I haven't yet delivered the rest of the work, because they didn't explain it properly.

How do I handle this situation? I'm scared they'll leave me a bad review. Do I have a say in this situation?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
wlyonsatl
Community Member

Be firm but clear in explaining your original understanding of the agreed work product, requiring them to add a new milestone if there is signifcant additional work required by you to complete the project as they are now defining it. It isn't uncommon for a project to change, but your total pay should change, too.