cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very discouraged

Highlighted
Margaret T Member Since: Jan 19, 2015
1 of 13

I am new to odesk but I have found many positons that are scams on here. I always researc companies before interviewing with any. Every single one that I have applied and be "accepted" to interview has been a scam. 

Since I am new to Odesk, I figured I would do low hourly rates to start because I really have no experience working online. Is this the wrong way to go? 

Highlighted
Elisha Porsha P Member Since: Jan 19, 2015
2 of 13

Don't be discouraged.  Not all the jobs posted are scam. When you come across a Job post and you noticed that it's a scam, flag it as scam to Odesk.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Aseem B Member Since: Dec 20, 2014
3 of 13

I would not advice to start at a lower(or higher) hourly rate as either way things will be tough when you begin. Also as you work on some jobs, new clients expect you to charge the same rate to them. It is best to start at a rate that you are comfortable with. This will differ from person to person. Some work on odesk just for creative fulfilment in their spare time like stay at home moms, School/College Kids etc. they will be comfortable charging lower rates. Some quit their jobs and are working full time on odesk, they will like to charge higher rates according to their cost of living and pay rates at their location. You decide what is your deal and stick with it for a while.

Generally at any hourly rates, you will find bad clients who will want to scam you. Eventually you learn to filter them out like you are already doing. So consider the effort for applying and then filtering out jobs when you quote your rates. 

Highlighted
Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
4 of 13

Hi Margaret and welcome to the oDesk Community!