🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Voice Over Artists may LOSE THEIR JOBS!!
Page options
jpdsouza
Community Member

Voice Over Artists may LOSE THEIR JOBS!!

ATTENTION VOICE OVER ARTISTS!

I've been a voice-over artist for over 3 years on Upwork and other platforms.

Recently, I came across a few job postings wherein clients have asked for recordings of my voice (either new or existing recordings) for AI training and machine-learning. The price they offer is quite attractive and tempting. The clients are usually from well known and popular Text-to-Speech websites and apps.

But fellow voice-over artists, it's important to know that even though the price is attractive, if we sell our voices to AI training and machine-learning clients, we are sure to lose our jobs sooner or later. Potential clients will be able to get voice-overs done, using our voices, but through these AI websites instead (which we would have made possible by selling our voices for a one time fee).

Please, let's not fall into this trap. The one-time fee is great, but if we lose our gigs, it won't make up for even a fraction of how much we could be earning if we keep our jobs and not be beaten by AI-generated voice overs. PLEASE DON'T SELL YOUR VOICES FOR TEXT-TO-SPEECH AI OR MACHINE-LEARNING PURPOSES.

Hope we can do this together, for our community and for the sake of our own skillset.

Thanks,

Joel.

7 REPLIES 7
celgins
Community Member

Joel,

I don't do voice-overs, but this is definitely concerning.

Are you saying a potential client could use an AI/ML-powered website/tool; upload your voice pattern using a voice-over you did; and create an entirely new voice-over?

This sounds like a legal issue to me; especially in the U.S.

jpdsouza
Community Member

Clark,

It sure is concerning, but not from a legal standpoint.