cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: W9 Form Issues

Mohammad M Member Since: May 20, 2018
1 of 7

I am an international student that is living temporally in CA. I will be in the US in the next couple of years because of college. My probelm is, I am unable to recieve payements. I have not done any tasks yet because in my profile settings it says: "In order to withdraw earnings, please complete a W9 Form." Should I put the address of my country even though I am working in the US? What should I do?  

Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2 of 7

Your profile has to reflect your real location.

Are you legally allowed to work (other than on campus) in the USA? Usually a student visa does not allow this in which case you can't work on Upwork either.

Best to get advice from your visa issuing authority to clarify, as you would not want to risk violating your visa conditions (and thus your studies.)

Highlighted
Mohammad M Member Since: May 20, 2018
3 of 7

Thanks for your answer Petra. This is interesting because what if a French citizen was on a holiday somewhere in the US. Does this mean that they cannot work because they are in foreign territory? Is it still possible to work in the US by giving the non-US location (that is, the location of my non-US address)? If not, is it still possible to do jobs for free (that is, just for the experience)? I am asking this because I am an experienced programmer, and I want to use what I know well to help others. Eager to hear your reply. 

Community Guru
Mary W Member Since: Nov 10, 2014
4 of 7

A French person on holiday in the US would not be travelling with a visa.  Student visas are generally limited to work on the college campus.  I suggest you contact your consulate and/or the State Department for further clarification and an official response.

Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
5 of 7

@Mohammad M wrote: