🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: What am I doing wrong?! I've got the expe...
Page options
gmbuckalew
Community Member

What am I doing wrong?! I've got the experience and education - please hire me!

Hi Everyone,

I have over 15 years of customer service experience and I have a Master's Degree, yet I can't get a single person to bite on my proposals. I don't know what I'm doing or saying wrong. Can someone please check out my profiles and give me some pointers, please? The tutorials aren't much help.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
mwiggenhorn
Community Member

As a paralegal, I get many invitations for immigration work (about which I know absolutely nothing).  I would concentrate on that as the customer service field is grossly oversubscribed.

BTW- unless you took a national certification exam, you are not a certified paralegal.  You are a paralegal with a certificate.  Not the same thing at all.

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
mwiggenhorn
Community Member

As a paralegal, I get many invitations for immigration work (about which I know absolutely nothing).  I would concentrate on that as the customer service field is grossly oversubscribed.

BTW- unless you took a national certification exam, you are not a certified paralegal.  You are a paralegal with a certificate.  Not the same thing at all.

I appreciate the feedback. I’m trying to get into the Paralegal world so it seems impossible to get an experience if I don’t have any to begin with - it’s a vicious cycle.
prestonhunter
Community Member

I'm not sure what to tell you, Gretchen....

You are offeing "customer service" and "data entry" services.

Couldn't I simply hire someone in the Philippines or another country for a much lower rate to do those types of tasks? It's not clear why I would want to hire you.

So I should lower my rate even more and get paid hardly nothing due to the service fee because someone in China does the same job for less?
I simply want a part time job and I have the qualifications.