cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What does the Time Tracker Track, exactly?

Nicole B Member Since: May 28, 2015
1 of 14

I am new to the UpWork community and landed my first job. It is an hourly position. I use another time tracker for other clients and it tracks real time...the second I turn it on to the second I turn it off.

I notice that the UpWork time tracker seems to consider a 10 minute interval as time worked, then specifies how many active (i.e. clicks, mouse moves, applications, whatever) minutes there were in that 10 minute period. They range from 2-9 minutes...that's quite a range, but makes sense since waiting for chat replies, reading instructions, etc. is time worked too.

My quesiton is, if you click "on" and only really "work" for 2 minute of the 10 and then click "off", does UpWork consider that 10 minutes of work? It is showing that on my work diary...counting all the 10 minute intervals and adding them up for a running total. So is it 10 minutes, each time the tracker is turned on, no matter if it was turned back off a minute later? That doesnt make sense. 

Anyone? Thanks in advance!

Community Guru
Stephen B Member Since: Dec 4, 2012
BEST ANSWER
2 of 14

The tracker takes a random screenshot in every ten-minute period. A ten-minute period is counted for pay after the screenshot has been taken. The exact time it's taken at within that period is random so as to avoid people gaming the system.

Note that any period is subject to review by the client subject to a) the screenshot shows you were doing what you were supposed to have been doing; and b) there is a reasonable number of clicks and strokes logged, showing that you weren't just sleeping.

I'm open to correction on some of the finer points of this, but it's more or less it...

Community Guru
Setu M Member Since: Jan 26, 2014
3 of 14

Yes, Stephen pretty much has it covered.
You can see all the detailed information here