🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » What exactly does 'as needed - open to offers...
Page options
cdios
Community Member

What exactly does 'as needed - open to offers' availability setting mean?

Hello all,

I'm not quite sure what 'as needed - open to offers' means for availability. Can someone break it down for me? 

9 REPLIES 9
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

Chris D wrote:

Hello all,

I'm not quite sure what 'as needed - open to offers' means for availability. Can someone break it down for me? 

That's a very good question and I've always been confused about this myself. I usually keep my availability set to "more than 30 hours per week" because I wish to convey that I'm a full-time freelancer. To me, "as needed - open to offers" means that someone is perhaps not readily available (e.g. because they're a student or have a full time job), but they're willing to consider projects on an individual basis. But, I could be completely off-base. It would be interesting to hear how a client interprets this.

That's what I thought. I have 3-4 contracts right now, so I'm kind of
swamped and mostly booked up during the week. However, I'm still open to
projects that are one-off assignments, like articles, content, whatever. So
I turned mine down to "as needed - open to offers" but I'm not sure if
that's the right move or if I should just keep it on 'less than 30'.

Chris D wrote:
That's what I thought. I have 3-4 contracts right now, so I'm kind of
swamped and mostly booked up during the week. However, I'm still open to
projects that are one-off assignments, like articles, content, whatever. So
I turned mine down to "as needed - open to offers" but I'm not sure if
that's the right move or if I should just keep it on 'less than 30'.