🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » What happened to the freelancer/upwork market...
Page options
hewitt-jordan
Community Member

What happened to the freelancer/upwork market? Or is it Me?

I'm a senior full stack developer / tech lead.

2020 was an aweome year for me. For the first time in my life I was working with 2-3 clients a time, made enough to move out of my parents' place, and felt (for the first time in my life) that I wasn't going to get fired out of the blue. I was able to take ownership of projects, build them, deploy them, and produced projects that people liked.

But then near the end of 2021, things started to slow down. Clients started ghosting, or claiming I didn't have enough experience, or--more commonly--deciding to move in a different direction.

It's not just upwork, either. I've done probably over 200 interviews in 2022, and no matter how I approach it, the client/employer always passes.

Here's my strategy that was magic in 2020 (but not serving me now):

1. Post content like crazy. Blog, blogs, and more blogs! And a few videos for good measure. And the blogs provide value, too; it's not just my insane ramblings (though I do slip one in a paragraph here or there).

2. Interact with the community. Reply to EVERYONE's comment. Repost someone's comment if I think it's valuable (especially if I think it's *under*valued)

3. When I send out cover letters, I focus on what I can do for the client/employer, focusing on asking what they need in order to bring them greater success. And, yes, I always include a call to action (referencing my website, which I designed to tell people exactly what I do and who I'm here for!)

4. On the initial call I jump right in to listening to what the client is looking for and walking through how I'd go about it, scoping out the project work. If I need to do a little more research before placing a bid, I give them a timetable when to expect an answer. Otherwise, I say the bid right there.