🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » What happens if I cancel a project contract? ...
Page options
7ba56d1a
Community Member

What happens if I cancel a project contract? I haven't received THE requirement.

Hi! It's my first project order, and instead of attaching the script for the voice over as requested the client linked to a Google Doc that doesn't have the proper permissions set.

Not that Google is known for keeping the permissions you set, but....

The delivery clock's ticking and I don't have the most necessary requirement. After initiating the order/contract, while I was asleep, the client messaged me saying that if I had any questions about the script to email the writer (via Gmail) who's in the Philippines where it's now 2am.

I need the full delivery allotment of 2 days when I receive a finalized script. I've contacted support but may not get a reply in time, so I'm considering canceling the order before the clock runs out. What would happen?

6 REPLIES 6
penngrp
Community Member

Why not simply email the client right now and tell them you were not provided with the permissions required to open the documents.

7ba56d1a
Community Member

I don't have their email, unless there's something I've missed about Upwork (?).

I've messaged them within the site. I'm not confident that they'll respond, and promptly, because they already skipped a message I had about vocal direction. Plus, as I mentioned, they told me to email someone else about script questions. It seems like a situation where they aren't very communicative--as if they think they did everything they needed to do and won't be back until they expect the delivery.

penngrp
Community Member

I would email the person who's email you have, and then copy and paste that same email into the Upwork message to your client. This way you have a trail of all of your communications. If no one answers that is not your fault. 

7ba56d1a
Community Member