cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What really is ''Chargeback''? Is it a Licensed Scam?

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Md Ashifur R Member Since: Mar 12, 2015
1 of 17

I've been working on Upwork for more than 4 years and for the very first time I've received an email from Upwork Chargeback Department stating that a client has issued chargeback via his bank for a $100 payment which was approved by himself after I delivered the work on a fixed price contract at last month 22nd October! Already 15 days has gone that he himself has approved the payment and I yet have no idea how could this chargeback even still exist now??? Payment by Upwork is highly secured, after client's approval the money doesn't deposited to freelancer's account instantly instead Upwork hold the money for 5 days as a security period if there's anything come up in client's mind so he can dispute the payment. As this happened for the first time with me, Upwork said if I want & help them then no money will be deducted from my Upwork account & they are willing to cover the fund as a one-time courtesy on my behalf, the amount due to the bank. I really appreciate this kind gesture from Upwork but it doesn't make sense why they'll pay back?? It's my hard earned money and he was happy wanted me to work more but his payment method became unverified and the contract we had were ended without leaving any feedback and communication! I delivered the exact work we agreed so why would I or Upwork pay him back?? Is that make any sense?? That means any client can post job, hire, pay and after the project is completed then anyday if he wants he can issue a chargeback and get his money back??? Really??? Isn't it scam?? To me its clearly scam! Is there really nothing Upwork can do to stop this abuse?? Isn't there any term & condition for client that once he/she hire & pay someone consciously & willingly then he/she can't initiate dispute/reverse/chargeback the payment after a certain peri