🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: What's Your Experience with PITA Clients?
Page options
robin_hyman
Community Member

What's Your Experience with PITA Clients (Nightmare Clients)?

My current clients aren't PITA (pain in the you know what) but I've had my share of experiences.  Since so many newbies come to the platform asking questions before accepting or afterwards (especially that sexual harassment post), thought it would be helpful to share this blog post I recently wrote. 

Have any of you experienced this?

7 Ways to Know if a Client Will Be a PITA (Pain in the XXX) Before Accepting A Freelance Gig

It's all in the first contact meeting.  Whether you are communicating via a freelancer platform like Upwork, phone call, LinkedIn, skype or email, you should know after a few minutes of speaking or back-and-forth messaging if the client is going to be a PITA - a pain in the you-know-what.

I have been freelancing for nearly 2 years and completed more than 60 projects, most of them with different clients.  Over time I learned how to spot red flags.  Not every client will be a PITA.  There are wonderful, smart clients out there who are awesome.  But this post is about how to identify those who may hurt your reputation (JSS) or who may cause you unnecessary stress. 

Here are 7 ways you can tell it will be a painful freelancing experience:

1. How Much Time Do We Have?

You have scheduled a call with the potential client or the client pings you to chat at your convenience.  Either way, you get on the call and one of the first questions the client asks is "How much time do we have"?

I consider this a red flag because it means the client is not busy and not results driven (time is money!) There arre no meetings set up, no pressing things the client has to do.  The client will also talk your ear off speaking until the very last second before you say you have to go - guaranteed.