🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » What should I do about a problematic client?
Page options
edwarddinzole
Community Member

What should I do about a problematic client?

I am pretty new to working through Upwork, though not particularly new to working freelance remotely. I have a client who requested a logo for 100 dollars, with 80 going to me and the 20% being taken for the Upwork fee. When the job was originally discussed, we agreed that I would do a collection of rough passes, and then the client would approve some to be finalized and colored in a style we agreed upon. This client was not remotely prompt in responding, and when he did bother responding, it was almost always just a single sentence giving very little direction. Despite this complete lack of communication on the client's end, I provided the work above and beyond what was requested considering the low price. 

After a day of no response on the direct messaging, I submitted my work for the milestone. Almost immediately, he messaged me this:

"Sorry for the late feedback I actually already got another logo made, you weren’t able to capture my image for the logo but I do have another job for you if your interested?"

Now, obviously I won't be moving forward on this other mystery job without getting paid for the work I've already done. Is there anything I should do beyond leaving the milestone submission up? 

A client shouldn't get to decide after the work has been done that they don't wish to pay for it, especially when they've given little to no feedback. It seems like the entire reason we're paying a 20% fee is so we can have the assurance that we will be paid, no? What is the best course of action going forward? I only have a few jobs under my belt at this point, I don't want to get a bad review just because a client decided to be a jerk. I don't think I will continue to work on this site if this is a common occurance. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION