🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » What software do I need to start with Upwork
Page options
af607f83
Community Member

What software do I need to start with Upwork

I'm sorry if this is a ridiculous qustions, I'm new.

I'm new to Upwork and have been searching on the 'Community' for what software I need to start freelancing?  I'm wanting to do writing/data entry/virtual assistant work.  I'm fine with purchasing software like Microsoft Office, but don't want to if I don't have to.  I just want to be sure I have everything I need before I send a proposal out for a job.  I would hate to not be totally prepared for the job I select.  Any tips on what software I may need would be great.  I've read some of these discussions and I'm kind of in 'information overload'.

Thank you all!

8 REPLIES 8
roberty1y
Community Member

You'll need to download Upwork's time tracker, otherwise there's no way of being paid for hourly jobs. After that, a lot depends on the type of work you're offered. Maybe get ready to buy Office, but don't do so until you actually get a job that requires it.

You're new here, so look out for scams. They target new members.

Top Red Flags for Scams: From Community Membe... - Upwork Community

Thank you for your help, it is much appreciated. This has answered my question, I'm now ready to go! 

prestonhunter
Community Member

The only reason you would need Microsoft Office is if you are going to do work utilizing Microsoft Office.

I don't have Microsoft Office. I don't need it for my work.

elisa_b
Community Member

I am not sure I understand - but if you are offering those services on Upwork, this implies you are experienced in those fields, therefore you should already know which tools you need - and possibly own them, too.