aphodite

What to Expect?

Hello Everyone!

I am completely new at oDesk and still pretty confused about some features. I have completed my profile 100% and set a hourly rate but not sure whether it is over priced or under priced. I have seen many posts where it was adviced to keep hourly rate as low as possible at the begining. But many of you also suggest to set a adequate hourly rate. I am very confused about which one I should consider. Can you please suggest me what hourly rate I should ask for my present profile!! Please feel free to check my profile and give me a constructive feeback (both possitive and negative is appreciated). I want to improve the quality of my profile and to make sure that I am doing justice for my clients and myself as well. 

I really value your suggestions. Thank you. 

1 REPLY 1

Hello Naurid,

I did had the same feeling when I started here. But then I realized something, the rate you have on your profile it is a general rate. Because you do have different skills to work with, sometimes the rate can be high or low according with the specification of the task.

The advice I give to you is to check all the information you can about the job you applying for:

- check out the preview works that the client had, how much he paid for in a similar situation;

- adjust the value thinking of the time it can take you and also the responsibility of it (more skills needed, can allow you to ask a little more then what you have on your profile, or less if it is indeed such an easy task);

- if it is available, you will see the average the other Freelancers are asking to do that job, so you can take that as an idea of what you will ask for;

- when you apply you can also say to the client that the value can be discussed.

You will get the touch with the time, don't worry! Smiley Wink