Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where do I Pay my taxes living abroad ?

chuevzla
Jesus A Member Since: Mar 20, 2017
1 of 11

Hello everyone!

I'm a freelancer. I'm from Venezuela currently legally residing in Mexico. I deposit half of my earnings in an USA Bank and the other half in Mexican Bank. 

I'm having trouble to understand how and where do I pay my income taxes? do I pay them in Venezuela, Mexico or USA ?

Does anyone have an idea on this topic?

Thanks a lot

imakeinternet
Community Leader
Mike W Member Since: Sep 28, 2016
2 of 11

You pay tax on the USA bank in the USA.

You pay tax on the Mexican bank in Mexico.

Consult a tax professional if you don't understand.

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
3 of 11

@Mike W wrote:

You pay tax on the USA bank in the USA.

You pay tax on the Mexican bank in Mexico.

I don't think so. If he is not "resident for tax purposes" in the USA he doesn't have to pay taxes in the USA. He does have to discuss it with a tax professioonal as you say, but he doesn't pay taxes in a country he has no residency, citizenship or legal personal or business presence in.

imakeinternet
Community Leader
Mike W Member Since: Sep 28, 2016
4 of 11

It really depends on how the money is entering the country.  Pre or post tax.  The USA is notorious for double taxing out of country income under certain circumstances.

petra_r
Community Guru
5 of 11

@Mike W wrote:

It really depends on how the money is entering the country.  Pre or post tax.  The USA is notorious for double taxing out of country income under certain circumstances.

For people who are not US citizens, not US residents, don't have any business presence or personal presence in the US and may never even have set foot in the USA?

Merely having a bank account in a country does not automatically make you liable for income / revenue taxes.

hernandez-luz
Community Leader
Luz H Member Since: Mar 20, 2017
6 of 11