cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which rate to charge for a first project?

Highlighted
Richard H Member Since: Oct 10, 2014
1 of 6
Hi guys, I am new to Odesk and think this is potentially a great website. One poster responded to one of my posts and suggested that my hourly rate is too low. The reason for my relatively modest rate is because I have no history on Odesk. For reference, I have a college degree and am looking for programming related jobs. For now, I've set my hourly rate to $5.56 per hour, which factoring in the 10% leaves me with $5 per hour. I have every intention of making as much money as possible on Odesk, but right now I have no feedback. I thought that the most important priority right now is establishing a reputation as a great worker. In hopes of landing a job, I am offering a low rate. As I said earlier, I am a new member, so I'm not sure what are the best practices. I would greatly appreciate any advice for this. Thank you for your time.
Highlighted
Community Guru
Suzanne N Member Since: Aug 15, 2012
2 of 6
Richard, Don't set your rates that low you will get stuck in that rate if you do. If you really want to land your first job raise your rate to a competitive rate. Look through some of the other freelancers doing what you do (Not the low end ones) and set your price accordingly. You can always purpose a lower rate to a job if you feel you really want to do it, but once you set a lower rate and especially that low, you are cheating yourself if you have the skills you state you do. Setting a lower rate just sets you up to only be offered jobs at lower rates. If you are concerned about no feedback set your rate a bit lower but not at the rate you have now. You will never get out of the rut if you set it now.
Highlighted
Richard H Member Since: Oct 10, 2014
3 of 6